Apartment Therapy & The Kitchn Accounts Explained

Types of Account

As an Apartment Therapy and/or The Kitchn community member, you may have as many as three different kinds of registered account. These accounts are not connected. We're sorry for any confusion this may cause. We expect to simplify this in the future.

Community accounts are used for commenting, entering & voting in contests, responding to polls and entering giveaways.

Email subscriptions are for receiving our email newsletters.

Classifieds accounts are used for posting or purchasing items on our Classifieds service.

If your question isn't answered below, please contact our tech team for help.

Community Help

How do I register or log in to a Community account for Apartment Therapy or The Kitchn?

Please visit community.apartmenttherapy.com to register or log in.

How do I delete my Community account?

Please login at community.apartmenttherapy.com, click the "Edit my profile" link and then click the "Deactive My Account" button.

How do I reactivate my deleted Community account?

Please contact our tech team and request an account reactivation. You will be required to reset your password using our "forgot your password?" form.

I forgot my password. How do I reset it?

Use our "forgot your password?" form.

What is a "display name"?

The "display name" is the name that we display on the site next to your comments or other activity. We do not publish or share readers email addresses publicly and use them only for account-related communication.

When I sign up I receive the message "Display name has already been taken"?

This means a user in our system already has this display name. Please choose another name. If it is possible you registered in the past with this name, you may wish to try resetting your password with any previous email addresses you registered with.

When I sign up I receive the message "Email has already been taken"?

This means an account with this email address is already registered. If you've forgotten the password for this email, you may reset it here.

When I sign in I receive the message "Your account has been deleted at your request."

This means you previously deactivated your account. Please contact our tech team and request your account be reactivated.

When I sign in I receive the message "Your account is deactivated and cannot be logged in."

This means your account has been disabled by our moderators, most likely due to a violation of our comment policy. Please review our comment policy and follow the directions to appeal.

Email Help

How do I unsubscribe from an Apartment Therapy or The Kitchn email newsletter?

Please click on the "unsubscribe" link at the bottom of any email we have sent you that you wish to unsubscribe from.

How do I subscribe to Apartment Therapy or The Kitchn email newsletters?


How do I change the email address for my email subscription?

Currently, we do not provide a "change of email" service. Please sign up again with your new email address and unsubscribe from your old email account (or leave it subscribed and we'll remove it automatically if it starts bouncing our mail).

Classifieds Help

Our Classifieds system is operated by our friends at Krrb

Please refer to their help documentation for assistance with your Classifieds account or contact support@krrb.com directly.


If your question isn't answered above, please contact our tech team for help.


Comments have been disabled.