Before You Quit Facebook, Try This Settings Hack to Stay Productive

Before You Quit Facebook, Try This Settings Hack to Stay Productive

Eee058b3188ecfedf6381b6a529a2f4b360e8b3c?w=240&h=240&fit=crop
Taryn Williford
Apr 12, 2016

It's not unusual to feel like social media is draining some of the energy from your workday and your life at home (you meant to get started on the laundry an hour ago, didn't you?). One popular solution to the social media time suck is to quit cold turkey: Deactivating your Facebook profile could potentially give you back hours every day. But there's actually a way to half-quit Facebook if you'd like to stay connected to your friends but, you know, a little bit less.

This article on Business Insider asks tech CEOs how they get the most out of their day, and Roman Grigorjev of GuessMate.me offered up a mostly unknown Facebook settings feature: You can move your contacts' profiles from "friend" to "acquaintance" – in bulk.

The magic Facebook link is right this way. If you're logged in, you should see a screen of the Facebook friends you haven't interacted with in a while – which means liking or commenting on their updates. You can check or uncheck any or all of the profiles, then with one button, flip the switch to make them all "acquaintances."

Grigorjev explained the effect to Business Insider:

"You will still get updates, but instead of 'check out what I ate for breakfast,' you will only be shown the most important posts, i.e. 2-5 new posts max a day from hundreds of your friends. That would save you lots of time and make you 5-10x more productive."

See? It's like half-quitting Facebook. You'll still be able to catch up on the big news from your whole network – never miss a pregnancy announcement or big promotion – but you'll be spared the sort of menial updates that can make social media such a drain on your day.

Created with Sketch.