Erase the Data from Your iPad Before You Sell It

Erase the Data from Your iPad Before You Sell It

Eee058b3188ecfedf6381b6a529a2f4b360e8b3c?w=240&h=240&fit=crop
Taryn Williford
Mar 14, 2011

It's quite easy to get so wrapped up in a game of Angry Birds that you start to forget things, like what time your dentist's appointment starts or the fact that it's your niece's birthday. In the course of things, you might even forget that your multi-touch tablet is, in fact, a computer and needs to be treated like one. If you're going to be re-selling your old iPad now that you've got the shiny iPad 2 in your paws, make sure you wipe all of your personal information from the device.

So you're one of the cautious re-sellers who's waited until the new iPad in in their hands before selling off the old one. Smart move. Now you can back up all your data and purchased apps before you wipe your old one clean:

  1. Connect your old iPad to your computer and right click (or control click) on the device name in iTunes. Select "Back Up" from the pop-up menu and let it do it's thing (If you're working on a laptop, make sure you're fully charged or connected to a power source).
  2. Once it's finished, click on the device name again to bring up the "summary" panel in the main window. Click on the "Restore" button and confirm that you want to erase everything from your iPad and restore it to its factory settings.


If you don't use iTunes, you can also restore your iPad on the device itself. Click "Settings," select "General" and then choose "Reset." Make sure your 'Pad is plugged in to power (a full restore could drain your battery), then confirm that you want to erase and restore your device for the next happy iPad owner.


via Gadgetwise at NYTimes.com

(Top image: Flickr member Willow (Chengyin) licensed for use under Creative Commons)

Created with Sketch.