Inside Out: Max and Sara Kate's Small Really is Cool!

Inside Out: Max and Sara Kate's Small Really is Cool!

Jill Slater
Jul 9, 2007

Inside Out: A showcase for those who transform their residences into homes via innovative intervention

Name: Maxwell and Sara Kate Location: West Village Size: 265 sqft, 1-bdrm rental Years Lived In: 14 years (5 with Sara Kate and 6 months with Ursula) A much requested tour this week... Our very own Maxwell and Sara Kate! They have really pushed the limit in terms of what is possible in a residence of this size. Not only do Sara Kate and Maxwell manage to include all the classic bases found in a home--kitchen, bathroom, living room, dining room, bedroom, but they have also managed to squeeze in a baby! Do you have an idea for a house tour? Let me know! jill@apartmenttherapy.com
For all Inside Out tours, click here!
Maxwell and Sara Kate are extreme when it comes to limiting their accumulation of stuff so they don't waste time figuring out where to put things. Because they know that they own only what they need, the focus of living then switches to actively choosing beautiful pieces with which to adorn their home. Survey: Style: Let’s say we’re organic modern. Inspiration: The space itself. Favorite Element: Our new kitchen Biggest Challenge: Trying to fit a living room, dining room and kitchen into one room and not make it too crowded. What Friends Say: “Oh, how beautiful…but, seriously, when are you going to move?” Biggest Embarrassment: Our garden! During the renovation it got trashed. Proudest DIY: Our white felt doors. Biggest Indulgence: The Dornbracht faucet in the bathroom. Best Advice: Less is more. Dream Source: Paris for eclectic, beautiful vintage finds, BDDW for furniture and Troy for seating. Resources: Ann Sacks: 800.278.TILE, annsacks.com Apple: apple.com Astech Closets: 212.244.6970 Benjamin Moore: benjaminmoore.com Cherner Chair Co.: 866.243.7637, chernerchair.com Christie Towels: christie-towels.com Crate & Barrel: 800.967.6696, crateandbarrel.com Curran: 800.555.6653, curranonline.com Design Public: 800.506.6541, designpublic.com Design Within Reach: 212.944.2233, dwr.com Dornbracht: dornbracht.com Fishs Eddy: fishseddy.com French General: 323.462.0818, frenchgeneral.com Henrybuilt: henrybuilt.com 212.966.5797 Ikea: ikea.com Knoll: 877.61knoll, knoll.com Lighting Plus Stores: 212.979.2000 MarreMoerel: marremoerel.com Matouk: matouk.com Medical Products Direct: 800.804.9549, medicalproductsdirect.com Motiv: motiv.com Nurseryworks: nurseryworks.com Pottery Barn: 800.779.5176, potterybarn.com Riedel: reidel.com Restoration Hardware: 800.910.9836, restorationhardware.com Robern: Robern.com Simon’s Hardware: 212.532.9220, simons-hardware.com Sutherland Felt Co.: 248.280.0450, sutherlandfelt.com The Company Store: 800.323.8000, thecompanystore.com The Container Store: 888.contain, thecontainerstore.com Vitra: usa.vitra.com.tr
Originally Posted on March 14th, 2007
Created with Sketch.