My Great Outdoors: Amanda's Yard & Garden

My Great Outdoors: Amanda's Yard & Garden

Aaron Able
Jun 8, 2009
Name: Amanda Hughes Location: Greenville, South Carolina Type of space: Yard & Garden Tell us about your outdoor project and how you enjoy it: My house is on almost 2 acres, but a majority of the yard and land is filled with gardens — plants and vegetables, and garden paths — some out of pea gravel, some out of flag stone. It is gorgeous and full of color year round. I spend a lot of time walking around the yard with the dogs and use the open field in that back for frisbee. I also like to sit by the fountain and read. It is very peaceful. Usually when I have people over we sit by the fire. I have a huge vegetable garden that I share with my Aunt and Uncle who live across the street. We fill it up with a variety of veggies and cutting flowers to share.

How did you create it? I was lucky enough to buy it after it had been abandoned for over a year. The yard is very mature; it has just been a matter of pruning, bringing things back to life, and adding my own personal touches. There is still much work to be done, but what fun would a garden be if there was no work to do?

Recommended store, site, product or resource? I get a lot of my plants and flowers and gardening tools from Home Depot. They will always take plants back if they do not survive in my yard. I get most of my decorative pots from IKEA and almost all of my outdoor furniture is recycled from previous owners.


ATVideo of the Day
Group 12 Created with Sketch. rss Untitled-2 Untitled-3