The "G-Fail" Resonates through Twitter, the Whole World

The "G-Fail" Resonates through Twitter, the Whole World

Eee058b3188ecfedf6381b6a529a2f4b360e8b3c?w=240&h=240&fit=crop
Taryn Williford
Feb 24, 2009

We hope you didn't have a late-night project to finish up. Most of us here in the US were asleep, but starting around 9:20 am GMT (4:20 am EST or 1:20 am PST), G-Mail and most of the Google network wasn't available. If you followed "#gmail" or "#gfail" on Twitter, you know how much this outage sucked for the world, but it also gave us a really good argument for everyone who thinks offline G-Mail is a stupid idea...

Aside from Twitter, The Washington Post was quick on the news this morning. But for several hours, heresay from others was the only way to know if it was down for just you or for everybody (And this seems like a good time to introduce you to "Down For Everyone or Just Me," the site that will let ya know for sure).

But eventually, a Google Rep gave a three-hours-late statement its help pages:

We're aware of a problem with Gmail affecting a small subset of users. The affected users are unable to access Gmail. We will provide an update by February 24, 2009 6:30 AM PST detailing when we expect to resolve the problem. Please note that this resolution time is an estimate and may change.

The problem is resolved now (many of you probably didn't even realize there was an issue), but like most things that ruin our days, we can take this little glitch and turn it into a positive: Maybe this is a good time to get your life off G-Mail and Google Docs. We don't suggest you stop using Google at all, it's got a really easy UI and a ton of features, but maybe it would be a good idea to back up your email and important documents on your hard drive or another site.



[ Image from Cambodia4kidsorg@Flickr ]

Created with Sketch.