smaller

A My Personal Docking Station Small/Cool Space

Name: Jenelle Pearring

Size: 600 sq ft

Home type: Apartment

Location: Brooklyn, New York

Years lived in: 3 years, rented

Household: Just me!

Have any design professionals worked on this space: No

Describe your space:

My space is constantly changing and evolving, suiting my needs as life progresses. Growing up with six siblings and always lots of people in the house, I value both my own personal space and love to host. I love to make my home functional and cozy. The goal is that whether myself, someone I love, or a stranger walks in, anyone is able to breathe a sigh and settle in.

Did you DIY anything in your space? And, if so, what's your favorite DIY?

I custom build anything that I can for my space. The ladder that you see holding books in the first photo I built with my sister when I first moved to the city 11 years ago. My bed frame I made from leftover 2-by-4 cherry beams one of my closest friends had. The small bar on the wall is made from wood that I salvaged from old picture frames. Almost everything in my apartment has been salvaged, handed down, or changed by me in some way. Also, check out the watercolor painting I did on the wall in the living room! (Picture 2)

What's your favorite product that you bought for your space and where did it come from?

My favorite thing I purchased for my space is probably my reading chair (first photo). I bought it on sale from Target three years ago, and it always rounds out the room no matter how I rearrange things. I also love the copper hanging wine rack (second photo) that I put some circular mirrors behind; it always gets a comment or two.

What inspires you?

I am greatly inspired by light; my day job as a cinematographer lends to framing things around light and sculpting my apartment around what lighting fixture I can create. I lean toward soft lighting and warmth in my middle room and usually spend nights there, whereas I let sunlight and bright aspects (plants, always!) dictate the front room and use that mostly during the day.