All of the Filming Locations You Can Visit From Season One of “The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power”

published Sep 30, 2022
We independently select these products—if you buy from one of our links, we may earn a commission. All prices were accurate at the time of publishing.
Castle film location
Credit: Ben Rothstein/Amazon Prime Video

“The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power”— which cost $465 million to create — has quickly become a vast success, bringing in 25 million viewers on the day it premiered on Amazon Prime Video, earlier this month. The inaugural season was filmed solely in New Zealand, at countless scenic spots throughout the country. Below, find a list of the filming locations that you can visit for yourself. 

Hauraki Gulf

The Hauraki Gulf — also known as Tīkapa Moana — consists of approximately 988,000 acres of land. Hauraki means “north wind” in Māori, while Tīkapa Moana means “the mournful sea.”

Wye Creek

An ice wall at Wye Creek — which is only about 20 minutes by car from Queenstown, New Zealand — can be seen in “The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power.” 

Credit: Ben Rothstein/Amazon Prime Video

Tasman Glacier

Tasman Glacier — aka Haupapa — is the largest glacier in New Zealand, at 14.6 miles long. 

Aoraki / Mount Cook National Park

Located in the South Island of New Zealand, Aoraki / Mount Cook National Park is the country’s highest mountain, at 12,218 feet tall. 


The region of Otago boasts 12,000 square miles and a population of 246,700, as of 2021.

Northern Southland

Southland, as its name suggests, is New Zealand’s southernmost region. It spans upwards of 7.6 million acres. 

Fiordland National Park

Fiordland National Park — which is also located in the South Island of New Zealand — is the largest of New Zealand’s 13 national parks, taking up 4,868 square miles. 

Mount Earnslaw 

Mount Earnslaw, or Pikirakatahi, is a 9,249-foot-high mountain that has also appeared in “The Lord of the Rings” films. 

Mount Aspiring National Park 

Situated in the Southern Alps of New Zealand’s South Island, Mount Aspiring National Park forms a portion of the Te Wahipounamu World Heritage site.

Credit: Ben Rothstein/Amazon Prime Video

West Coast of Auckland

“The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power” enlisted the west coast of Auckland to act as the fictional Woodhill Forest, as well as a picturesque beach in the series. This particular part of the city is known for its surf beaches, including Te Henga, Muriwai, and Piha. 

Putangirua Pinnacles

Putangirua Pinnacles, or the Pinnacles, has also appeared in “The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King.” 

Palliser Bay 

Located on the southern part of New Zealand’s North Island, Palliser Bay is nearly 25 miles long.

The Wairarapa

The Wairarapa region is named after Lake Wairarapa and is situated in the southeastern corner of New Zealand’s North Island. 

Coromandel Peninsula

Spanning 53 miles, the Coromandel Peninsula was named after the HMS Coromandel — originally known as HMS Malabark — which was a British Royal Navy ship that stopped at Coromandel Harbor in 1820, with the purpose of buying spars made from kauri trees. 

Manawatū River

Located in the lower portion of New Zealand’s North Island, the Manawatū River is 110 miles long.

Tasman District

Formed in 1992, New Zealand’s Tasman District encompasses more than 3,700 square miles and is situated in the northwest of the South Island.

Kahurangi National Park

Kahurangi National Park is New Zealand’s second largest national park, consisting of 1,749 square miles.

Credit: Ben Rothstein/Amazon Prime Video

Rangipo Desert

The Rangipo Desert (or Te Onetapu) receives anywhere from 59 to 98 inches of rainfall every year.

St Bathans

Formerly known as Dunstan Creek, St Bathans was once a gold and coal mining town and is now a vacation hotspot, given the many historic buildings that have been preserved in the area, such as the Vulcan Hotel.

The Northland Region

Much like its name suggests, the Northland Region is the northernmost part of New Zealand. It boasts a mild climate and is known as the Winterless North because of this.


Located in the western part of the North Island, Taranaki is named after Mount Taranaki, a composite volcano that the area is best known for.


Queenstown — another tourist hotspot on this list — is located in Otago and boasts a population of 15,450.

Great Barrier Island

Great Barrier Island is New Zealand’s sixth-largest island, boasting a grand total of 110 square miles.